In this article we will explain the different ways in which an order can be cancelled. We advise you to read our help center article on the working of order connections, before reading this article.
There are two ways a cancellation can occur: the consumer cancels the order, or the seller (retailer) cancels the order.
Order cancelled by the consumer
If the consumer cancels the order you will not see a notification of this in Channable, because Channable does not pickup these cancellations from the marketplace. The reason for this is that a retailer must accept a cancellation of the order in his marketplace seller’s account and therefore the cancellations cannot be automated. You will then need to cancel the order in your eCommerce back office.
Order cancelled by the retailer
If the retailer cancels the order in the eCommerce back office Channable will pick this up and the status of the order in Channable will be set to "canceled". Channable will also update the order in the marketplace so it will be cancelled there as well.
Note that even if the consumer cancels the order, the retailer will still need to cancel the order in his eCommerce back office otherwise that status of the order in Channable will not be set to "cancelled".
Possibility to cancel an order in Channable manually
It is possible to manually cancel orders within Channable, as long as they have the status
waiting. This feature is available for all platforms where you can use an order connection for.
If the order already has, the status
shippedit is not possible to (manually) cancel the order in Channable anymore.
To cancel an order in Channable, go to the Orders tab in the left bar and click on a specific order you would like to cancel manually. On the right you can find the button "Cancel order".
When you click on this button, Channable will ask for your confirmation. Click on "Cancel order" here if you agree with the cancellation.
The order will then be canceled, and the customer will be refunded. The order in Channable will have the status
cancelledright now, and it is visible in the tab "Cancelled".